Top Ten Hidden Gems

Top Ten Hidden Gems

Fall-

Top Ten Hidden Gems

 Fall-

Top Ten Hidden Gems

Thank you to That Artsy Reader Girl for hosting this meme.

“Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.”

The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

4.58  ·  2,722 Ratings  ·  677 Reviews

Paperback, 388 pages
Published August 7th 2018

Calla Fletcher wasn’t even two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the isolation of the extreme, rural lifestyle, leaving behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher, in the process. Calla never looked back, and at twenty-six, a busy life in Toronto is all she knows. But when Calla learns that Wren’s days may be numbered, she knows that it’s time to make the long trip back to the remote frontier town where she was born.

She braves the roaming wildlife, the odd daylight hours, the exorbitant prices, and even the occasional—dear God—outhouse, all for the chance to connect with her father: a man who, despite his many faults, she can’t help but care for. While she struggles to adjust to this rugged environment, Jonah—the unkempt, obnoxious, and proud Alaskan pilot who helps keep her father’s charter plane company operational—can’t imagine calling anywhere else home. And he’s clearly waiting with one hand on the throttle to fly this city girl back to where she belongs, convinced that she’s too pampered to handle the wild.

Jonah is probably right, but Calla is determined to prove him wrong. Soon, she finds herself forming an unexpected bond with the burly pilot. As his undercurrent of disapproval dwindles, it’s replaced by friendship—or perhaps something deeper? But Calla is not in Alaska to stay and Jonah will never leave. It would be foolish of her to kindle a romance, to take the same path her parents tried—and failed at—years ago. It’s a simple truth that turns out to be not so simple after all.

Amazon |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


Recovered by Jay Crownover

4.16  ·   2,817 Ratings  ·  354 Reviews

ebook, 369 pages
Published March 27th 2018

It was hate at first sight…

Affton

I hated Cable James McCaffrey.

He was entitled, spoiled, a user…and an addict.

He was out of control and didn’t bother trying to hide it.

He had everything anyone could want but still seemed miserable and lost.

Every move he made, every mistake he stumbled his way through, rubbed me the wrong way. However, I couldn’t stop myself from trying to save him from himself when no one else would. In the sweltering heat of the summer, Cable taught me that having it all means nothing if you can’t have the one thing you want more than anything else.

Cable

I was obsessed with Affton Reed.

She was rigid, uptight, and no fun. There was something about her innate goodness that called to me.

She acted like she was above all the normal faults and failures that clung to the rest of us like the scent of smoke after a fire.

I was infatuated with her, but that didn’t stop me from acting like she didn’t exist.

In the scorching heat of summer, Affton taught me that there is always a way back from the brink of despair. She showed me that the trick to having it all was realizing that it was already there, in my hands. All I had to do was hold onto it.

The road to recovery is full of twists and turns no matter who is in the driver’s seat.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


Ride (The Wild Sequence #1) by Harper Dallas 

4.37  ·   1,973 Ratings  ·  250 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 416 pages
Published May 10th 2018

No one rides like Chase Austin.

Bad boy. Player. Adrenaline junkie. Snowboarder Chase Austin has a reputation—and not just for being the world’s best extreme athlete. He’s as cold as the mountains he rides, loyal only to his crew . . . and panties drop wherever he goes.

Photographer Brooke Larson knows better than to let him get through her emotional Kevlar. So what if she used to have his poster on her bedroom wall? She’s not a teenager with a crush anymore. Chase Austin is her key to the big time, and she’s getting his photo no matter what.

Too bad the only place Chase wants her is in his bed.

Men leave. Success is forever. Brooke knows the drill, and she’s not letting anyone get in the way of her career—or into her heart.

But whether it’s on the slopes or between the sheets, riding with the best means risking it all.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


Gifts (The Killers #3) by Brynne Asher 

4.47  ·  1,074 Ratings  ·  175 Reviews

Published October 24th 2017

No one would say Keelie Lockhart isn’t determined.  Taking on the role of both mom and dad to her two young kids, she’s managing life the best she can.  Saddled with a century-old dilapidated farmhouse she can’t afford, a bevy of goats, two dogs, and a geriatric donkey, the last thing she has time for is a man—even if that man is a knight whose shining armor comes in the form of worn-in jeans and work boots.

Controlled, methodical, and focused—Asa Hollingsworth takes charge of everything in life.  Working close to home after years away, he finally has the time to focus on his kids.  Little does he know, a chance meeting with a petite, strawberry-blonde stranded on the side of the road, would intertwine their lives in a way he’d never want to untangle.

But when school bullies turn into something much worse, Asa starts to dig around.  He never dreams the troubles lurking in the hallways of the local high school would shake his family to its core.  With drug dealers lurking, bullets flying, and threats coming from every angle, Asa must do everything he can to protect the ones he loves.

Because in the end, there’s nothing more precious than the gift of life.

Warning:  Oh, I’m sorry, that’s a fake ID.  If you’re not eighteen, consider yourself bounced and walk away from my books.  I’ll gladly welcome you back when you become a legit adult.  That is, unless you’re my parents or my children.  If so, walk away and don’t come back.  You don’t need to know what’s in my head.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


The Kingpin of Camelot (A Kinda Fairytale #3) by Cassandra Gannon 

4.28  ·   1,082 Ratings  ·  148 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 576 pages
Published July 31st 2017

The Queen: Guinevere must save Camelot. Ever since Arthur died, the evil Scarecrow has been trying to marry her and gain the crown. If she and her daughter are going to survive his mad schemes, Gwen needs to find Merlyn’s wand. Fast. Unfortunately, the only man strong enough to help her on her quest is Kingpin Midas, a flashy, uneducated mobster dealing with a curse. Gwen is a logical, rational woman, though, and she can draft one hell of a contract. She’s pretty sure she can come up with an offer not even the kingdom’s greatest villain can refuse.

The Kingpin: Anything Midas touches turns to gold. Literally. The curse has helped him to rule Camelot’s underworld with an iron fist. He has more money and more power than anyone else in the kingdom. He’s convinced there’s nothing he can’t buy. One look at Gwen and Midas knows that he’s about to make his most brilliant purchase, yet. He’s about to own the one woman in the world he would give anything to possess. All he has to do to claim her is somehow win a war against the smartest man in Camelot, hide his growing feelings from Gwen, deal with his overprotective bodyguard’s paranoia about the queen’s hidden motivations, and adjust to a five year old demanding bedtime stories from a gangster. Simple, right?

The Contract: Gwen’s deal is simple: If Midas marries her, she’ll make him King of Camelot. It’s a fair bargain. Midas will keep her enemies away and she’ll give him the respectability that money can’t buy. She never expects Midas to agree so quickly. Or for their practical business arrangement to feel so… complicated. Midas isn’t the tawdry, feral animal that Arthur railed against. He’s a kind and gentle man, who clearly needs Gwen’s help just as much as she needs his. In fact, the longer she’s around Midas the more Gwen realizes that their “fake marriage” might be more real than she ever imagined.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


The Hard Truth About Sunshine by Sawyer Bennett 

4.45  ·   1,673 Ratings  ·  477 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 350 pagesPublished October 2017
** 2017 Kindle Book Awards WINNER – Literary Fiction **

New York Times bestselling author Sawyer Bennett has written her most gripping and poignant tale yet. Provocatively heart-breaking, audaciously irreverent and romantically fulfilling, The Hard Truth About Sunshine exposes just how very thin the line is between a full life and an empty existence.

An angry, bitter amputee.
An optimist losing her eyesight.
A dying kid.
A suicidal thief.
Four people with nothing in common but their destination.

Despite having narrowly escaped death’s clutches, Christopher Barlow is grateful for nothing. His capacity to love has been crushed. He hates everyone and everything, completely unable to see past the gray stain of misery that coats his perception of the world. It’s only after he involuntarily joins a band of depressed misfits who are struggling to overcome their own problems, does Christopher start to re-evaluate his lot in life.
What could they possibly learn from one another? How could they possibly help each other to heal? And the question that Christopher asks himself over and over again… can he learn to love again?
He’s about to find out as he embarks upon a cross country trip with a beautiful woman who is going blind, a boy with terminal cancer, and an abuse victim who can’t decide whether she wants to live or die.
They will encounter adventure, thrills, loss and love.
And within their travels they will learn the greatest lesson of all.
The hard truth about sunshine…

Warning: This book deals with some tough issues including suicide and sexual abuse.

Amazon |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


The Last Hour of Gann by R. Lee Smith 

4.11  ·   4,043 Ratings  ·  748 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 1023 pages
Published September 12th 2013

It was her last chance:

Amber Bierce had nothing left except her sister and two tickets on Earth’s first colony-ship. She entered her Sleeper with a five-year contract and the promise of a better life, but awakened in wreckage on an unknown world. For the survivors, there is no rescue, no way home and no hope until they are found by Meoraq—a holy warrior more deadly than any hungering beast on this hostile new world…but whose eyes show a different sort of hunger when he looks at her.

It was his last year of freedom:

Uyane Meoraq is a Sword of Sheul, God’s own instrument of judgment, victor of hundreds of trials, with a conqueror’s rights over all men. Or at least he was until his father’s death. Now, without divine intervention, he will be forced to assume stewardship over House Uyane and lose the life he has always known. At the legendary temple of Xi’Matezh, Meoraq hopes to find the deliverance he seeks, but the humans he encounters on his pilgrimage may prove too great a test even for him…especially the one called Amber, behind whose monstrous appearance burns a woman’s heart unlike any he has ever known.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads | Favorite Author

 


The Accidentals by Sarina Bowen

4.16  ·  1,821 Ratings  ·  406 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 320 pages

Published July 10th 2018

A YA novel from USA Today bestselling author Sarina Bowen.

Never ask a question unless you’re sure you want the truth.

I’ve been listening to my father sing for my whole life. I carry him in my pocket on my mp3 player. It’s just that we’ve never met face to face.

My mother would never tell me how I came to be, or why my rock star father and I have never met. I thought it was her only secret. I was wrong.

When she dies, he finally appears. Suddenly I have a first class ticket into my father’s exclusive world. A world I don’t want any part of – not at this cost.

Only three things keep me going: my a cappella singing group, a swoony blue-eyed boy named Jake, and the burning questions in my soul.

There’s a secret shame that comes from being an unwanted child. It drags me down, and puts distance between me and the boy I love.

My father is the only one alive who knows my history. I need the truth, even if it scares me.

AMAZON  |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 


Dark Horse (Class 5 #1) by Michelle Diener 

ebook, 468 pages

Published June 15th 2015

 

Some secrets carry the weight of the world.

Rose McKenzie may be far from Earth with no way back, but she’s made a powerful ally–a fellow prisoner with whom she’s formed a strong bond. Sazo’s an artificial intelligence. He’s saved her from captivity and torture, but he’s also put her in the middle of a conflict, leaving Rose with her loyalties divided.

Captain Dav Jallan doesn’t know why he and his crew have stumbled across an almost legendary Class 5 battleship, but he’s not going to complain. The only problem is, all its crew are dead, all except for one strange, new alien being.

She calls herself Rose. She seems small and harmless, but less and less about her story is adding up, and Dav has a bad feeling his crew, and maybe even the four planets, are in jeopardy. The Class 5’s owners, the Tecran, look set to start a war to get it back and Dav suspects Rose isn’t the only alien being who survived what happened on the Class 5. And whatever else is out there is playing its own games.

In this race for the truth, he’s going to have to go against his leaders and trust the dark horse.

Winner of a SFR Galaxy Award 2016 and the Prism Award 2016 for Best Futuristic.

Amazon KU  |  Goodreads  |  5 Star

 

 

 

The Birthday List by Devney Perry 

4.43  ·   2,868 Ratings  ·  627 Reviews

ebook, 402 pages
Published April 3rd 2018

Happily married to her college sweetheart, Poppy lived a blessed life with the husband of her dreams. Then everything changed. She is no longer a wife. She is no longer the envy of her single friends. Now, people look at her with pity as they whisper a single word behind her back.

Widow.

Years after her husband’s tragic death, years of pain and sorrow and wishing for the life she’ll never get back, Poppy decides to finish Jamie’s birthday list. She’ll do the things he wanted to most. Because maybe, just maybe, if she can complete his list, she can start to live again.

Poppy expects going through the birthday list will be hard. She expects it to hurt. But what she doesn’t expect is Cole. Could the man who delivered the news of her husband’s death and shattered her heart be the one to help her put it back together again?

Amazon  |  Goodreads  |  Review  

 

 

 

 

 

Thief (Boston Underworld #5) by A. Zavarelli 

4.2  ·  2,550 Ratings  ·  463 Reviews

Published February 23rd 2018

Tanaka

I’m a good girl.

I live by a code that can’t be bent or broken. It is my duty to my family to stay innocent and pure. To marry an Italian man. The stars are already aligned.

But Nikolai Kozlov re-writes my destiny with five simple words.

You belong to me now.

He’s Russian mafiya. A thief. A skilled liar with no moral boundaries. He is everything I have been taught to hate. A man who stands for nothing. A man who takes what he wants without a second thought.

And what he wanted was me.

He thinks he controls my fate, but what he doesn’t know is, sometimes it’s the good girls you have to watch out for.

Nikolai

I’m a dangerous man.

I live by a code. The Vory code. It is my duty to my family to protect the brotherhood. To destroy anyone who threatens what we stand for, including her.

She’s a dancer. A beautiful little doll. My prisoner, and my new favorite puppet. This mafia princess thinks she has me under her spell, but in the end, she is simply collateral.

It’s a shame to destroy precious things.

But this is what bad men do.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review 

 


Little Liar (She Asked for It #1) by Willow Winters

4.06  ·  Rating details ·  1,535 Ratings  ·  410 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 300 pages
Published May 23rd 2018

Don’t judge a book by its cover.
You’ll tell me you don’t… but you already think you know what my story’s about.

You have no idea.
Just like the people sitting in this courtroom.
She asked for it. That’s what they keep saying.

And no, it’s not because my skirt was too short or I was drunk at a party.
It’s nothing like that. It’s because of what I like and how I like it.

They’re judging me as I sit in the front row, my eyes drawn to the man on trial.
If I’d known it was going to end like this, I never would have gone home with him.
But he’s the type of man I just can’t say no to.

lI wanted to feel his lips kiss down my neck.
I dreamed of running my fingers along the rough stubble on his jaw.
I craved his hands on me, pinning me down.
lI needed to whisper his name in the dark, late at night.

You still think you know what happened? You don’t.
He’s innocent and I enjoyed every second I was with him.

Let me tell you my story … all about how I asked for it.

Amazon |  Goodreads  |  Review 

 


Down To You (Sixth Street Bands #5) by Jayne Frost 

4.71  ·  128 Ratings  ·  97 Reviews

425 pages
Published September 4th 2018

She started from perfect. A star who shone brighter than the rest.
But then fate took it all away.
Now she’s broken.
A beautiful song with a fractured beat.

But I’m still on the rise.
Chasing a dream that she’s already left behind.
If I’m lucky, I can find my redemption in the spotlight.

Destiny brought us together.
Put her in my path.

It started with a road trip. But somewhere along the line, it became a journey from here to there.

iMaybe she can help me.
Maybe we can help each other.
Maybe music is enough.
iMaybe.

Every story deserves a soundtrack.
And ours is epic.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review 

 


Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger

4.27  ·   1,654 Ratings  ·  344 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 316 pages
Published February 6th 2018

A hauntingly powerful love story in the tradition of The Notebook and The Time Traveler’s Wife.

True love never dies.

Megan and Cassidy were childhood sweethearts who thought they would be together forever. Fate had other plans. Soon after they were married, Cass’s life was tragically cut short. Still grieving her soul mate five years later, Megan moves to the small town of Seaside, Oregon, hoping to rebuild her life.

Her first night there, she meets the town recluse, Theo. Withdrawn, guarded, and mysteriously silent since a terrible accident left him scarred, Theo takes an instant and inexplicable dislike to Megan. But as their paths cross again and again, Megan becomes convinced there’s more to Theo than meets the eye. When she discovers the reason for his silence, his nightmares, and especially his pointed dislike, Megan becomes convinced of something far more astonishing.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review 

 


The Peer and the Puppet (When Rivals Play #1) by B.B. Reid

4.18  ·   2,496 Ratings  ·  405 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 391 pages
Published July 22nd 2018

THE PUPPET

Borrow the bike. Win the race. Collect the cash. It should’ve been an easy job. Ran out of town with a broken leg and a lawsuit, my mother’s latest flame swoops in like a knight in gilded armor. Blackwood Keep is a place I don’t belong, and I’m not the only one who knows. To the boy across the hall, my savior’s only son, I’m a stray looking for a bone.

He’s lord of the manor.
King of the academy.
And number one on my shit list.

THE PEER

I have no intentions of becoming a happy family with the social climber and her wild daughter. A bottle of Jameson and a cracked skull gets my problem shipped to reform school, but I didn’t bank on her returning.

Four’s out to get even, and she almost had the perfect plan: expose the privileged kid moonlighting as a gangbanger. She’s smart, but she’ll have to be smarter. Sending her away won’t be good enough this time. I’m going to have to tame the little troublemaker. To the girl across the hall, the one without a name, I’m nothing without my silver spoon.

She’s lady of the trailer park.
Queen of the swamps.
And my new favorite pastime.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review 

 


Envy by Dylan Allen 

4.2  ·   657 Ratings  ·  262 Reviews

360 pages

Published May 2018

From the author of the bestselling Thicker Than Water.
Envy is a stand alone sexy, angsty, emotional friends to lovers contemporary romance.

If envy is a sin, then let me be damned.

Graham was born to be a star.
Once upon a time, that star shone only for me.
Now, I have to share him with the rest of the world.
For a while, I thought could do it. Because, beneath the hypnotic smile, gorgeous body and God given charm that made him famous, I caught glimpses of my best friend.
Of the boy who called me sunshine and loved me.
I wore that love like a crown… until he placed it on another’s head.
Losing him was agony, distance felt like the only cure.
When tragedy reunites us after years apart, it only takes one touch to erase the past.
Just like that, I’m back in his arms.
He promises this time will be different. But I’m afraid to believe him.
Because, behind his star’s blinding brilliance is a darkness that doesn’t want to let him go.
I know a star that bright can’tbelong to just one person, but my jealous heart doesn’t want to share him.
I want all of him..even if wanting what doesn’t belong to me leads me to ruin.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads

 


Lead Me Home (Fight for Me #3) by A.L. Jackson 

4.36  ·   2,561 Ratings  ·  521 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 1st edition, 396 pages
Published May 5th 2018

Fourteen years ago, my life changed forever.

My sister disappeared. That day I was selfish. That day I chose myself over her. And that day, I lost everything.

Including Nikki Walters.

She’s the girl I’ve loved my whole life. She’s gorgeous. Caring. Every single thing I’ve ever wanted but denied myself. She was my sister’s best friend, and I destroyed any chance of keeping her.

When her safety is threatened, I have a second chance to do the right thing. But as soon as she moves in, I want her in all the wrong ways.

All it takes is a brush of her hand, and I’m losing all control.

The fire between us is only burning hotter.

But neither of us saw what was coming.

And it just might be Nikki Walters who destroys me in the end.

Amazon KU |  Goodreads  |  Review 

 


Sinner (Priest #2) by Sierra Simone 

4.32  ·    1,793 Ratings  ·  539 Reviews

Published March 15th 2018

I’m not a good man, and I’ve never pretended to be. I don’t believe in goodness or God or any happy ending that isn’t paid for in advance.

What do I believe in? Money. Sex. Macallan 18.

They have words for men like me—playboy. Womanizer. Skirt chaser.

My brother used to be a priest, and he only has one word for me.

Sinner.

Amazon  |  Goodreads 

 


Frayed Silk by Ella Fields 

4.08  ·    1,190 Ratings  ·  272 Reviews

Kindle Edition, 233 pages
Published June 26th 2017

Our marriage wasn’t just in trouble—mere threads were all that held it together.
What was once my perfect happily ever after had dissolved right before my eyes.
I can tell you when it started to happen.
What I can’t tell you is why.
And after seven months of watching my husband turn into someone I didn’t recognize, I’d given up hope in finding answers.

So I decided to break his heart
… and he did nothing to stop me.

Amazon  |  Goodreads 

 

Top Ten Hidden Gems


Top Ten Hidden Gems

About corina

I’m a blogger, photographer, and unapologetic book addict. I love strong female characters, major jerks, and Happily Ever Afters.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Hidden Gems

    1. The Simple Wild was amazing!!! And I personally can tell you that Gifts and Recovered are equally outstanding, both were 5 star reads for me. I hope you’ll enjoy them! 😊

  1. Thanks for the awesome list! I’ve added Sinner, Ride and Frayed Silk to my TBR. I love hearing about great books that I might have missed out on because they didn’t get the hype of other popular releases. Book FOMO is real!

    1. You’re welcome Katey, I’m glad you found a few books for your tbr – it makes us happy!!! We tried to pick books that haven’t been hyped about yet, and hope we’ll get a few more readers to pick them up. 😃

  2. What a fantastic list. Thanks for the recommendation of these hidden gems, although I’m already stalking Sierra Simone, BB Reid and AL Jackson.

    1. Lol – Amanda you are not alone staking these authors 😃 and thank you so much for checking out this list, it makes us happy if you find new books to read.

  3. I’m totally adding The Kingpin of Camelot to my TBR, I cannot resist an Arthurian retelling, much less if it looks like it’s giving Guinevere some agency!
    Also, I snorted at this blurb line: “Gwen needs to find Merlyn’s wand.” /o\ I have no excuse.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
Follow my blog with Bloglovin