The Lido by Libby Page

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject—and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

The Lido – Libby Page

Fall-

The Lido – Libby Page

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW:

The Lido

by Libby Page

(Standalone)

Duration: 09:19:01
Published July 10th 2018

The Lido – Libby Page

Fall-

CORINA’S REVIEW

 

I love listening to audiobooks, especially fiction audiobooks. And the audiobook for The Lido was as good as I hoped it would be. At the end I had goosebumps and was smiling this silly but happy smile. With only 9 hours, the audiobook was quick, easy and flew by lightening fast.

If you love books that make you feel good, The Lido will do the trick. It was a heartwarming tale of friendship, hope, and new beginnings. If you love charming characters and a plot that was as enchanting as it was uplifting, this is your book.

The author’s writing style is being compared to Fredrik Backman, and it certainly has the feel of it, but it can’t quite reach it. On the other hand, for a debut novel, it was fantastic. And being compared to Fredrik Backman at this stage can only be good for the author. Because all said and done, The Lido was a wonderful novel that I’m really glad I read and would recommend to anyone. 

What carries this novel is the friendships that begin because of the Lido, which is apparently the British word for a public open-air swimming pool or bathing beach. These unexpected friendships were the heart and soul of this novel. Friendships I’m actually envious of. Even though the Lido is Kate and Rosemary’s only common denominator at the beginning, their friendship becomes so much more over time. As so often the characters enrich each other’s lives and the story itself. And this is something that always makes me happy. True friendships, wanting to help and take care of each other is what makes me pick up a novel. It’s heartwarming and gives me hope!!

The Lido has these tender and emotional moments, especially closer to the end, that make me truly glad that I read this book.

And I just had to add this photo, which I found online credited to Caskie Mushens. I just love all the different international covers. I’m partial to the US cover, but I also just ordered the UK paperback version from Bookdepository. What’s your favorite one?

The Lido – Libby Page

BLURB

Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she’s assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she’s found communion during her marriage and since George’s death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary’s life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary’s fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido’s history—with the help of a charming photographer—she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido’s closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

Add to Goodreads 


AMAZON


TWITTER

AMAZON

GOODREADS

FACEBOOK


Libby Page graduated from The London College of Fashion with a BA in fashion journalism before going on to work as a journalist at The Guardian. After writing, her second passion is outdoor swimming. Libby lives in London, where she enjoys finding new swimming spots and pockets of community within the city. The Lido is her first novel.


Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Circe by Madeline Miller

Origin (Robert Langdon #5) – Dan Brown

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Down a Dark Road (Kate Burkholder #9) by Linda Castillo

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty


The Lido – Libby Page

About corina

I’m a blogger, photographer, and unapologetic book addict. I love strong female characters, major jerks, and Happily Ever Afters.

4 thoughts on “The Lido by Libby Page

    1. Thank you so much!! And the things you heard are all true 😊 I would definitely recommend reading it especially if you like feel good novels.

  1. I can’t wait to read this 💖 It lifted my spirits just reading the blurb. I can already tell that this is going to be a 5 Star book 💖

    1. Angela i hope it will be a 5 star book for you 😃 it’s one of these feel good reads that have the most amazing relationships.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
Follow my blog with Bloglovin