Spider – Ilsa Madden-Mills – TJ & Co Book Review

Spider by Ilsa Madden-Mills – An emotional stepbrother romance, about star-crossed lovers, heart-warming and touching – with a touch of Rock n Roll.

Fall-

Double Book Review: Spider

by Ilsa Madden-Mills

 

Expected publication: November 13th 2017

 

Standalone

 

Fall-

TIJUANA’S REVIEW

I’ve never been much of a cover whore, but this shit hot cover had me at first glance!

I mean, seriously, how could I turn away from this sexiness? Couple that with the fact that Ilsa Madden Mills knows how to do New Adult perfectly. My ever growing TBR never stood a chance!

Here’s the breakdown

It’s a story of fate. Finding your one true love in the most unexpected place. Rose meets an unbelievably handsome stranger at a pivotal moment in her life. When they part ways, her life changes. Years later, she meets another handsome stranger on a plane. She’s drawn to him like no other, but knows he is bad news. What’s a girl to do? Take a chance, right? Well, what neither of them know is that he’s also her new step-brother!

What I enjoyed

The prologue and epilogue were life. I loved the feel of each of them. I was immediately drawn in by the epilogue and left completely satisfied after the epilogue.
Having read the Briarwood Academy novellas, I was excited to see the new direction of the story. I’m a sucker for a hot brit and wounded soul. Spider certainly fit the bill. He’s a hot mess at the beginning of the story…actually through a lot of the story. Lol Rose was an exceptional heroine. I loved her spunk and back story. She made the most of her change in circumstances and learned how to stand up for herself.

The characters were a major plus.

No one is more shocked by this than I am, but the time jumps (which I’m not typically a fan of) were a big success. I really enjoyed seeing the growth and character development of both main characters, but it was done without a ton of exposition. It was perfectly executed and was a true win in moving the story forward without weighing it down.

I have to say, I misjudged the premise of the story.

I thought British rocker and ran with it. While the story wasn’t at all what I expected it was still a fantastic read. It’s a story of love, fate, and fighting against the odds to achieve your dream. Another sweet, and emotionally riveting read from a favored author. Spider is the epitome of an exceptional angsty NA read. Recommended for fans of Stepbrother Romance, Broken Heroes, and Angsty or Emotional reads.


CORINA’S REVIEW

Spider by Ilsa Madden-Mills was an easy and fun read.

From the beginning to end I was enchanted by Rose and Spider. From the way they met to the highly charged emotional climax I was glued to the pages.

The story and plot drew me in like moth to the flame. Stepbrother, rock star, forbidden love – all those tropes do it for me. Ilsa Madden-Mills went all out!!!

SWOON!!

As damaged and complicated as Spider was on the inside, the way he was with Rose was heart-warming and adoringly sweet. I loved seeing his very contrast rich personality traits. To be the reason for a man to want to change is flattering and utterly breathtaking. Spider wanted the best for Rose, even if it would cost him dearly. That alone had me go all swoony on this charming bad boy.

A total surprise!!

Rose was surprisingly strong willed and knew her mind. Even though the odds were against the couple, Rose was determent to follow her heart. I adored that about her. She was a smart cookie and learned early on what she had to do to survive and get ahead in life. Her ability to adapt and to put her foot down when needed was admirable. All these character traits made Rosa a fantastic heroine.

A perfect match.

The couples incredibly strong emotional connection was impossible to crack. From the very beginning they trusted their feelings for each other. There was never any doubt or uncertainty in regards to what they felt for one another. Even if they were apart, their hearts knew better. SWOON!!!

Ilsa Madden-Mills delivered a solid performance.

I pretty much loved everything, from her writing style to her characters. I would have loved a little more Rock n Roll, but nevertheless the book drew me in and kept me captivated until the very end.

 


BLURB

From Wall Street Journal bestselling author Ilsa Madden-Mills comes a standalone romance about a flawed hero and the woman he can’t forget.

“She crossed my path and changed my whole direction.”

He called himself Spider.

I just knew him as the sinfully gorgeous guy with eyes of fire that fate places next to me on the airplane.

I didn’t know who he really was…British bad boy…cocky rock star…my stepbrother.

He kissed me because he thought he’d never see me again. He would.

Everyone warned me about him.
They told me he was careless and ruthless and screwed up.
They said he’d leave me with a hole in my heart.

Maybe I should have listened.
Maybe I should have built a fortress to keep him out.
But I crumbled instead.

They say an unbreakable thread connects those who are destined to meet. If that’s true, then the moment he sat next to me, we were bound together forever.

He just had to figure it out before it’s too late…

 

Add it to Goodreads 

 


FACEBOOK

TWITTER

AMAZON

GOODREADS


AMAZON (coming soon)


Wall Street Journal best-selling author Ilsa Madden-Mills writes about strong heroines and sexy alpha males that sometimes you just want to slap.

She’s addicted to all things fantasy, including unicorns and sword-wielding females. She has a degree in English and a Master’s in Education. When she’s not pecking away on her computer, she shops for cool magnets and fuzzy pajamas.


 

 


 

 

3 thoughts on “Spider – Ilsa Madden-Mills – TJ & Co Book Review

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this:
Follow my blog with Bloglovin